Personal Training: Review to date!


I am just over half way through my personal training programme with Dennehys Health & Fitness in Cork http://www.dennehys.ie/NewSite/personal-training.php. I decided to do the personal training as in the last year I have struggled to get into the habit of going to the gym (I’d do 2 weeks on followed by 6 weeks off) and wasn’t getting anywhere near achieving my goals.

 
I met with Steve Barry who is a Personal Trainer at Dennehys Fitness  (and The Beauty Dial Fitness & Nutrition writer) and anyone who is a fan of his articles here on TheBeautyDial will know he knows exactly what he is talking about when it comes to Fitness & Nutrition.
 
 I told him my main goals:
  • To lose weight
  • To tone up, especially my stomach and arms
  • To reduce my body fat
  • Get healthy and get fit
He designed a training programme & nutrition plan for me to follow and four weeks in its going great 🙂 (My friend Amy who has  been doing the training with me as we have the same goals and as lets face it its easier to go with a mate 🙂 )

Nutrition Plan:
In general the nutrition plan we were given is not too difficult to follow, its more a case of using common sense and not eating the stuff you know is bad.
General Nutritional tips:
  • avoid chocolate, crisps, sweets, alcohol.
  • ensure to have breakfast first thing in the morning
  • do not add sugar to tea or coffee
  • work carbohydrate intake around training times
  • avoid processed foods
  • use seasoning instead of sauces
  • supplement with whey protein
Some of my new food favs
 
 
Training Plan:
We go to the gym a minimum of 3 times a week for a 30 minute workout with Steve and his colleague John who is also a personal trainer. They really push us and increase the intensity week after week.
 
Over the three days they change up the workouts:
  • Day 1: Arms – Various arms weights and exercise – usually 15 reps repeated three times.
  • Day 2: Legs – Various leg weights and exercises – usually 15 reps repeated three times.
  • Day 3: Cardio – Squats, jogging on the spot, Burpees, Cross Trainer,  etc
 
The Results:
Now we are just over 4 weeks in and the results are beginning to show 🙂 ( this has given us the boost we needed to keep going, and we’ve already signed up for a further 6 weeks as a result). I can’t physically see any difference yet however I am now wearing jeans that I couldn’t get past my hips 4 weeks ago 🙂
 
Neck : 1/4 inch down
Upper Chest: 1.5 inches down
Chest: 1/2 inch down
Waist: 1/4 inch down
Belly Button point : 1.5 inches down
Widest point around stomach: 5 inches down
Left Thigh: 1/2 inch down
Right Thigh: 1 inch down
Body Fat: 1.6% down
Weight: 1.1kg down
 
And now a little bit from Steve…
 
About 6 weeks ago Edel approached me about doing personal training. We sat down, had a chat and decided that doing one of our 6 week packages through the gym was the way to go. Along with Amy, Edel was going to do out team mate training programme (2 on 1 PT). 
 
I met the girls both separately and did initial assessments to determine there goals, exercise history, motivation, eating habits & injury/illness status. From there I devised a training plan that myself & John would deliver in the gym but more importantly a nutritional plan that the girls would have to implement themselves. 
 
Nutrition
I’m a firm believer in empowering people with the tools to devise there own ‘diet’. I got both Edel & Amy to write me out a food journal over the course of 3/4 days. I assessed this, pointed out any weaknesses and set them out guidelines to follow. After that it was up to them. I was of course available to answer any questions which the girls had. 
 
Training
The training in the gym was based around the girls ability, fitness levels and experience. Neither had any great experience of resistance training so week 1 definitely came as a bit of a shock and I know they were feeling the effects :-). We focused on total body training over week 1 and from week 2 we split it into 
 
Day 1: Upper Body – Using big compound movements
 
Day 2: Lower Body – Using big compound movements
 
Day 3: Total Body – Mixing compounds with anaerobic work. 
 
I also encouraged the girls to add in some cardio work on there own time which I know they have been doing. 
 
Results
First off I have to acknowledge the girls attitude. However tough the training has been there hasn’t been one moan or complaint. 
After 4 weeks I again sat down with the girls individually to do a reassessment. The measurements, weight and bodyfat % were down across the board. More importantly (to me anyway) was the everyday benefits the girls told me about – “more energy”, “clothes fitting better”, “feel healthier”, “improved mood” etc. 
I’d also like to point out that these results didn’t require the girls to give up there social life either, the key is finding the balance. 
 
Roll on the next 8 weeks…..
 
Edel xxx
 

Picture Source: totalfitnessconnection.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. Fida Rana says:

    I'm really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.
    Mens Hoodies

    Like

Leave a Reply

