Splurge or Save: Lipstick

It’s no secret, I’m a fan of a good oul’ pouting selfie and a lover of a red lippie. But, I don’t like topping up my lippie every hour. I want it to stay vibrant as long as possible. I have way too many lipsticks but my true love was always MAC Matte Lipstick in Ruby Woo. It has always a staple item in my over-sized make-up bag. The only downfall was the drying effect it had on my lips. Flakey, chapped and dry lips are not the conditions we desire from our lips. But I continued to use it for years…. until I discovered NYX Long Lasting Lipstick.

NYX Long Lasting lipstick lasts almost as long as MAC Ruby Woo but without the flaky chapped lips. Yes, it is slightly drying but with a little gloss or balm on top, it helped keep lips hydrated without compensating the colour. The colour was vibrant, the texture softer, and the staying power almost as long as MAC.

MAC Retro Matte Lipstick €20*
NYX Matte Long Lasting €9.25**

MAC Matte Lipstick does not budge, it’s even kiss proof, but NYX Matte Lipstick isn’t far off. See the transfer image below… yes I did apply lippie in my pj’s and kiss paper!!

Are you a MAC obsessive or will you give NYX a go?

Donna-Marie xx

*Price from MAC store in Brown Thomas
**Price from boots.ie

Leave a Reply

